August Wilson’s Gem of the Ocean

“You think you a strong man, Mr. Caesar. But you got that gun. That tell me all I need to know. I see that gun and I know the truth. A man will come and stand and look at the stars. That gun can’t take that away from him. You can shoot him but sooner or later somebody gonna come and stand in the same spot. He’s gonna come and stand and count the stars” (Wilson 79).

IMG_0655.JPG.jpeg

August Wilson’s Gem of the Ocean contains a surprising amount of commentary beyond that of race and class. As the University of Kansas battles to keep guns off campus, I find that the above quote provides a poignant example of literature as a method of persuasion.

Fight hard, my friends.

Leave a Reply

