Pet Sematary

Stephen King, you rascal. You never cease to fascinate me.

Surprisingly, Pet Sematary did not force me to leave the lights on at night, as per usual with Stephen King. Instead, I found myself fascinated by the language and relationships he formed within the novel.

The book starts out with an intro that give a list of people who have biographies, then a list of people who don’t. The list of people who don’t garner bios include people like the man who buried Hitler. At the end of the list, King says, “Death is a mystery, and burial is a secret.”

For over 220 pages, I assumed Gage was a healthy, long-living child. Then, this line hit me: “And Gage, who now has less than two months to live, laughed shrilly and joyously.” In the middle of a happy, father/son, kite-flying extravaganza, King threw this one at his readers, and the line smacked me in the face. After this, there’s a long tussle as to whether Gage is dead or alive or dead or alive. I enjoyed every moment.

King weaves in characters we all love, such as the Wendigo and maybe a reference to Cujo. You’ll love the research.

Read this book with no regrets. Read it with no time or all the time. Read it while you’re getting ready, waiting for your husband to broil asparagus, or trying to put off writing a particularly difficult poem. You can put it down, but God knows you’ll pick it back up.

Some of my favorite quotes from Pet Sematary:

“The soil of a man’s heart is stonier; a man grows what he can and tends it.”

“Hey police? I just saw the world’s oldest, slowest kid climbing into Pleasantview Cemetery. Looked like he was dying to get in. Yeah, looked like a grave matter to me. Kidding? Oh no, I’m in dead earnest. Maybe you ought to dig into it.”

“Life sucks, then you die.”

“The old sleep poorly. Perhaps they stand watch.”

 

Leave a Reply

